4711: NouvEau Cologne Natural Spray

Colognes are this summer! There are a plethora of brands bringing out signature summer scents in a cologne form which are lighter to wear and much easier on the nose. One fragrance that has grabbed me for this summer is 4711’s unisex NouvEau Cologne.  I feel this is lighter and more refreshing take on the cult original 4711 scent which has been around for years centuries.

I received a bottle of NouvEau Cologne at a recent press event and I have truly appreciated it over the last where the temperatures have soared. When the mercury rises, I prefer a lighter scent. Nothing sweet or heavy or powdery, just fresh and fruity. I’ve had compliments galore. This is why this cologne has had a permanent spot in my handbag. It’s still in there as I write this.

With top notes of blackcurrant and litchi that’s where it packs the fruity punch which soon dissipates to warmer base notes of tonka bean (which I love), musk and sandalwood. This isn’t a fragrance that confuses my senses. I don’t like when I can’t work out what the smell is. This is clean and calming sans confusion. It just coolly washes over you and it feels good and smells good too! This is down to the use of evodia which is a popular in Chinese medicine for its calming effects. I never heard of evodia before but I gather it is a highly fragrant fruit that the Chinese have used since the first century AD. I think its interesting how 4711, a German perfumier, has combined an Eastern element into the fragrance.

One of the things I also like about this fragrance is the price. At £12.95 for 50ml, I can spray freely and not limit myself to a few spritzes. It’s also accessible and can be picked up in Boots and online beauty stores like Beautique. The last thing I’d want to do is be trawling the shops trying to find it. That would put me right off, so I’m pleased I can just nip onto the high street and pick on up when this bottle runs out.

Talking about bottle, I think it’s so pretty in a simple streamlined sort of way. Not cluttered or fancy like a lot of fragrances these days, just clean and fresh with a clever use of colours. Bit like the cologne itself.

Full marks all around in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

