Product Review: Nars Concealer

I swore by my Make Up Forever Camouflage Cream palette in no. 5 for dark skin tones. It was perfect in every RESPECT and came with 5 cream colours each with a different use depending on the highlighting/shading effect I wanted to create. However, there was one colour which I used religiously and suffice to say t’was a sad day when I hit the pan.  I’ve not used the palette again, which is very wasteful and lazy on my part I have to say.

I’m going to Paris in a few weeks, so I’m sure I’ll stop by MUFE and pick up a new palette or see if they do my favourite on its own. I know there are a few places I can pick it up in London, but I’ve always wanted to go to the Paris store, so as they say ‘ good things come to those who wait’. I’ll keep you posted.

Moving on to the main proceedings.

In the meantime, I’ve had to get a new concealer and on impulse decided to give Nars a go. I bought Cacao – the darkest shade in the range. To be honest, it’s not been too bad. I like it because it comes in a cute little finger size stick. Which helps keep things tidy as if you’re heavy-handed or a bit slap dash, you will get concealer over the top and things can then get very messy. As the surface area is so small, I apply with my MAC 194 concealer brush.

Consistency wise, it’s quite creamy and very malleable, so you can really work it better as it gets warmer. It works better by dabbing it on the skin, then smoothing and blending out the edges. Blending is easy and a little goes a long way.

My one minor gripe with this product, is that is a teensy bit off colour for me. You wouldn’t notice if I didn’t point it out to you, but to my make up artist trained eyes, I can see that it could do with being a touch darker. What disappoints me slightly is that this is the darkest shade in the Nars concealing range.  If I go according to their website, the range has been increased to 10 to ‘achieve Nars Immaculate Collection.’ I really hope this is a work in progress, as considering my skin tone is medium and its a touch light for me, I think Nars can and should go further down the spectrum, all the way down to Alek Wek’s rich and beautiful shade of black.

So would I recommend this concealer. Yes. So long as you’re not darker than me 🙂

I still have maaad love for Nars though.  I mean they made Taj Mahal and Orgasm blushers and Zulu nail polish! The products are excellent, quality excellent, packaging excellent. Just need to go that bit further, that’s all.

 

ps – didn’t do the usual swatch on back of my hand, as it matched perfectly. My face is slightly darker than my hand.

Leave a Reply

