Lancôme’s Teint Idole Ultra 24H Foundation

For years I’ve had a grudge against cosmetic and make up giants who don’t foundations for dark complexions or when they say they do, they then don’t go far enough in the colour spectrum. It was ok to take our money for eyeshadows, lipsticks and nail polishes, but when where they actually going to go back to basics and sort out some foundation for real dark skins?! This really irritates me so much, that sometimes, I just walk past their counters and head straight for MAC (my most trusted foundation brand)

So, naturally I am pleased with the latest offerings from Chanel and Lancôme and their provision of foundation for darker complexions. A few weeks ago, I picked up samples from both counters and so far I’ve been enjoying trying out Lancôme’s Teint Idole Ultra 24H and here are my thoughts.

I was expecting a very liquid ‘y’ and runny foundation, but thats not what I got. It’s a liquid foundation, but there is some thickness to its consistency. I was pleased with that.  There is also a pleasant floral smell to it. I normally decanter to the back of my hand and then apply from there. It dries quickly, so one had to work fast with it.

Drying around the edges already!

The coverage is light to slightly medium. I usually prefer medium to full, but still I carried on. I didn’t find it buildable,  so I still needed concealer in some areas. I thought the colour match to my skin tone was excellent (shade 14 – Brownie) and it dried to a velvet matte finish which I really liked.  My skin is oily so I finished with a light dusting of face powder. It felt very comfortable and I didn’t feel like my face was being clogged up.

According to Lancôme, its retouch free and should last 24 hours. I’m afraid, with me that wasn’t the case on the first three occasions I wore it.  (some photos below) The staying power was about 5 hours maximum, before I needed a touch up. Even when I used a primer. This was a little disappointing for me as my usual day to day foundation (Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse) gives me at least 8 hours wear. For some reason, I really really wanted to be able to use this foundation and not have to put it in the ‘nah box’.

Day One, freshly applied

Day one, 7 hours later

I was so happy with most aspects of this foundation, that I was determined to keep trying it and give my skin enough time to adjust to it. On my forth try, I got much better results. On my shine prone areas (nose and forehead), I mixed it with my regular foundation and I found the staying power was a lot better. At least 7 hours. I also changed my primer from Laura Mercier’s Oil Free Primer to MAC’s Oil Control Lotion as well, which I am sure made a difference.

Day 3, 5 hours later, no primer

My final verdict with this foundation is that its worth a try. I think for the less oily skin type, it would work much better. I have been somewhat pleased, but I don’t think it would be an everyday foundation for me, until I can figure out how to give it more staying power. Maybe it’s an evening out foundation, dinner but not dancing as I’m not sure it will last very well in a warm, potentially sweaty environment.

Result! Mixed foundations with primer - 6 hours - getting much better.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 00:35:40

    Red lipstick looks amazing on you girl! I have drier skin around my mouth area… do you think the foundation would be more suitable for my skin type? xx

    Reply

    • Dija
      Apr 08, 2012 @ 16:09:37

      Thanks sweetie! I do love a red. This foundation should work for you as it feels very moisturising with no dryness or tightness. Best thing is to pop into a store and ask for a small sample bottle…that way if you don’t agree with it, you’ve not wasted a lot of money. Let me know how you get on x

      Reply

  2. Lynne
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 18:34:56

    Utmost welcome dear. That is good then, I will try my closest Sephora and retrieve a sample. Most definitely! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

